Youll Cup and Glanville Cup

The Association is a supporter of boys tennis at schools.  Each year schools play in the following events:

  • Independent Schools’ Championship (Youll cup)
  • Boys’ National Schools’ Championship (Glanville Cup)

A list of past winners of the Youll Cup can be found here.

A list of past winners of the Glanville Cup can be found here.

D’Abernon Cup

Encouragement of the game amongst Old Boys has taken the form of an annual competition.  The D’Abernon Cup was presented by the Association’s first President, Viscount D’Abernon.  In 1929, when Chaterhouse were the winners, 15 schools entered and that number has gradually increased.  Fourteen schools have been succesful, the outstanding performance  being that of UCS Old Boys who in 1968 won the compeition for the twelfth successive year.

It is still a fiercely contested tournament and the knockout competition culminates in the final being played in September.

To enter a team into the D’Abernon Cup, contact the Hon. Secretary (via the “Contact us” link) for entry details.


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: