THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS OLD BOYS' LAWN TENNIS ASSOCIATION

President:	P. Jackson (Uppingham)	
Committee:	H.B. Weatherill (Malvern) Chairman M.E. Barrett (KCS Wimbledon) C.P. Boden (St. George's) G.B. Brown (UCS) R. Cake (Millfield) J.R. Cooper (Colston's)	N. Cummings (Lancing) S. Gent (St. George's) C.M. King (Stowe) H.G. Macintosh (Fettes) J.H.R. Pool (Marlborough) J.B.M. Seddon (St. Paul's)
Hon. Treasurer: B. Rusling (Malvern)	Hon. Secretary: A.J.K. Tatum (KCS Wimbledon)	Hon. Match Secretary: M.E. Barrett (KCS Wimbledon)

ANNUAL REPORT 2000

The Committee has pleasure in presenting its annual report for the year ended 30 November 2000.

2000 AGM & Annual Dinner

The Annual General Meeting of the Association was held at The Queen's Club on 4th April 2000. Messrs Jackson, Tatum, Rusling and Howorth were re-elected as President, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Auditor respectively. Messrs Brown, Cooper, Cummings, Pool, Seddon & Weatherill were all re-elected to the Committee. At the meeting of the Committee which immediately followed the AGM, Mr Weatherill was elected Chairman for the seventh year.

The Committee's Report and Accounts of the Association for the year ended 30 November 1999 were presented at the AGM and unanimously adopted.

The AGM was followed by the annual dinner which was also held at The Queen's Club. As usual the dinner was a highly enjoyable occasion. Some 50 members and guests were entertained by an excellent speech from Mr Mark Cox, the Former British number one and Director of the LTA's Rover Training Scheme.

www.PSOBLTA.co.uk

Last year the Association made its debut on the internet. In order to resolve some initial difficulties we had to change our internet server provider and our address from "PSOBLTA.com" to <u>www.PSOBLTA.co.uk</u>

The site includes:

- Aims of the Association
- Fixture Lists
- Latest Results & Match reports
- Facility to Register to play in Matches
- D'Abernon Cup Draw & Results
- Membership Application Forms

Why not visit the site today & let us know what you think ?

Match Results

2000 proved to be another successful and enjoyable season for the Association, with 9 Wins, 5 Draws and 5 Losses. The Association started the new millennium with two extremely close matches. In the first, narrowly losing the Courtney Salver 5-4 at home to Fitzwilliam, in a match that went down to the final rubber before the Visitors triumphed 6-7, 7-6, 7-5. Then the Association regained the Avory Shield in the match against the Public Schools LTA side , by virtue of winning the deciding rubber to take the match 5-4.

Despite the early season excitement, the highlight of the season was still to come - the Association's match against the All England Club, where the Pub's team of Ashley Tatum & Tim Markall, Simon Gent & Andrew Hill, and Paul & Mark Siviter, edged home 5-4 to register the Association's first victory over the All England since 1984.

The remainder of the season included victories over Bradfield, KCS Wimbledon, Felsted, Marlborough, the Lensbury Club, St. George's Hill and the Northampton Wanderers.

2001 Fixtures

The 2001 Fixture Card is enclosed with this report. If you would like to play in any of the fixtures listed, please contact the relevant Match Manager either direct, or via our web site – they will be delighted to hear from you !

This year's Members' Tournament will be held on Saturday, 8th September 2001. Please contact Jonathan Pool if you interested in playing.

The Association is also investigating the feasibility of extending our fixture list into mid-week matches in order to be able to play against a greater number of schools. Any members who are interested in playing in such fixtures, should contact either Nigel Spink (tel: 020 8748 4308) or the Hon. Secretary.

Note: It is expected that Members who have agreed to represent the Association in a fixture and later find themselves unable to play, will find a suitable replacement for themselves and notify the relevant Match Manager.

D'Abernon Cup

The 2000 D'Abernon Cup was a huge success with an entry of 20 teams. In the first few rounds there were some very close matches indeed with some surprise results. The semi-finalists were the Old Reptonians who beat the Old Carthusians and the Old Paulines who beat the Lancing Old Boys. The final was one of the most closely fought in the last few years, played on the indoor courts kindly provided by the All England Club. The final produced some excellent tennis, unfortunately for the Old Reptonians the Old Paulines were just too strong and won 5.5 - 3.5, recording their first victory since 1994.

New Members

The following were elected members of the Association during the year:

Mr. Bradley Keenes	Bloxham	Life
Mr. Russell Smart	Bristol Grammar	Life
Mr. David Corrie	Repton	Life
Mr. Tom Knapp	Bradfield	Life
Mr. Raj Gill	Millfield	Life
Mr. Mark Beim	Seaford	Life
Mr. Charles Acheson-Gray	Charterhouse	Life
Mr. Matthew White	Charterhouse	Annual

As ever members are encouraged to be as active as possible in seeking new recruits for the Association. Application forms are available from the Hon. Secretary.

Association Merchandise

The following Association merchandise is now available:

- Association Ties (Silk).....@ £15
- White Tennis Shirt with Coloured Collar..... @ £20
- White Tennis Shirt with White Collar.....@ £15

Contact the Hon. Secretary or visit our web site for more details...

Other News:

During the year members of the Committee met with prominent tennis-playing "old girls". They were informed that the "old girls" were intending to recruit a number of players and establish some fixtures for the coming Season. A further meeting is intended to take place later in the year to get an update on progress, discuss their plans for the future, and possibly to offer assistance in the setting up of a Public Schools Old Girls LTA if appropriate.

The Public Schools LTA (PSLTA), with whom the Association have an annual fixture for the Avory Shield, have announced that they will change their name to the Independent Schools LTA (ISLTA) with effect from 2002.

Nominations

The following nominations have been received for the offices of President, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Auditor:

President:	Mr. P. Jackson
Hon. Secretary:	Mr. A.J.K. Tatum
Hon. Treasurer:	Mr. B. Rusling
Hon. Auditor:	Mr. D.P. Howorth

The following members of the Committee retire by rotation in accordance with Rule 8 and being eligible offer themselves for re-election: Messrs M.E. Barrett, C.P. Boden, R. Cake, S. Gent, C.M. King, H.G. Macintosh.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (2nd May 2001): AGENDA

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the AGM on the 4th April 2000 & consider any matters arising.
- 2. To receive the report of the Committee and Accounts for the year ended 30th November 2000.
- 3. To elect the Officers, Committee and Auditor for the year 2001.
- 4. Any other business.