THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS OLD BOYS' LAWN TENNIS ASSOCIATION

President: P. Jackson (Uppingham)

Committee: H.B. Weatherill (Malvern) Chairman N. Cummings (Lancing)

M.E. Barrett (KCS Wimbledon)

C.P. Boden (St. George's)

G.B. Brown (UCS)

R. Cake (Millfield)

S. Gent (St. George's)

C.M. King (Stowe)

N. Spink (Sherborne)

J.H.R. Pool (Marlborough)

J.R. Cooper (Colston's)

J.B.M. Seddon (St. Paul's)

Hon. Treasurer: Hon. Secretary: Hon. Match Secretary:

B. Rusling (Malvern) A.J.K. Tatum (KCS Wimbledon) M.E. Barrett (KCS Wimbledon)

ANNUAL REPORT 2001

The Committee has pleasure in presenting its annual report for the year ended 30 November 2001.

2001 AGM & Annual Dinner

The Annual General Meeting of the Association was held at The Queen's Club on 2nd May 2001. Messrs Jackson, Tatum, Rusling and Howorth were re-elected as President, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Auditor respectively. Messrs Barrett, Boden, Cake, Gent, King & Macintosh were all re-elected to the Committee. At the meeting of the Committee which immediately followed the AGM, Mr Weatherill was elected Chairman for the eighth year.

Under Mr. Weatherill's direction, the Association has, amongst other achievements, increased its number of fixtures, including the Avory Shield against the Public Schools LTA, recruited in excess of 70 new members and made its debut on the internet. As Mr. Weatherill has indicated that he will not be seeking re-election as Chairman of the Committee this coming year, the Committee would like to place on record its grateful thanks for all his considerable efforts and achievements during his eight years as Chairman. The Committee will elect his successor at their meeting immediately following the AGM on 24th April. Mr. Conor Boden has been nominated for the position.

The Committee's Report and Accounts of the Association for the year ended 30 November 2000 were presented at the AGM and unanimously adopted.

The AGM was followed by the annual dinner which was also held at The Queen's Club. As usual the dinner was a highly enjoyable occasion. Members and guests were entertained by an excellent speech from Mr. Bill Babcock, , Executive Director of the Davis Cup and Mens' Tennis for the International Tennis Federation.

www.PSOBLTA.co.uk

Why not visit the Pubs Online? Our internet site is now in its 3rd year & includes:

- Fixture Lists
- Facility to Register to play in Matches
- Latest Results & Match reports

- Aims of the Association
- D'Abernon Cup Draw & Results
- Membership Application Forms

Match Results

2001 proved to be another successful and enjoyable season for the Association, with 7 wins, 4 draws and 6 losses. Disappointing though was the impact of the weather, which forced the cancellation of a higher number of fixtures than normal.

The highlight of the season was the welcome addition of five new fixtures against schools. With the advent of the Public Schools League and ever earlier examinations in the summer term, finding suitable weekend dates for matches against schools has been increasingly hard. The Committee is therefore extremely grateful to Mr. Nigel Spink for all his hard work in establishing and running five new mid-week fixtures against Eton, Magdalen College School, UCS, Charterhouse and Radley. Nigel has again organised similar fixtures for this year, details of which are shown on the enclosed fixture list. Anyone who is interested in playing should contact Nigel as soon as possible. Also, if anyone is willing to take on the role of match manager for any of these fixtures, again please contact Nigel.

Finally, we are delighted to report a winning start to the 2002 Season with a narrow 5-4 victory over The Fitzwilliam Club to regain the Courtney Salver. Congratulations go to the PSOBLTA team, led by Conor Boden.

2002 Fixtures

The 2002 Fixture Card is enclosed with this report. If you would like to play in any of the fixtures listed, please contact the relevant Match Manager either direct, or via our web site – they will be delighted to hear from you!

Note: It is expected that Members who have agreed to represent the Association in a fixture and later find themselves unable to play, will find a suitable replacement for themselves and notify the relevant Match Manager.

D'Abernon Cup

The 2001 D'Abernon Cup had an entry of 20 teams. However, due to the ever increasing time pressures there were 7 walkovers, the largest amount the event has ever had. The good news was that the final turned out to be both exciting and extremely close. The match went down to the final set of the final rubber, where the Old Paulines finally prevailed over KCS Old Boys, winning the match 5-4 overall.

As a result of the amount of walkovers in last year's competition and feedback from Team Captains, this year we will trial a new round robin format for the first round of the D'Abernon Cup, grouping teams into two or three pools with all matches in each pool held at an indoor venue on a set day. Last year's Team Captains will be receiving details in the post soon. If

any other schools would like to enter, please contact Chester King as soon as possible (contact details on reverse of Fixture List enclosed with this report).

New Members

The following were elected members of the Association during the year:

Mr. Glen Pierce	Ardingley College	Life
Mr. John Harrop	Rosall	Life
Mr. Richard Lovell	Sherborne	Annual
Mr. Martin Eyre	Malvern	Annual
Mr. Justin Smith	King Edward's Birmingham	Annual
Mr. Gerald Clarke	Westminster	Annual
Mr. Julian Harris	Malvern	Annual
Mr. Ashley Compton-Dando	Millfield	Annual

As ever members are encouraged to be as active as possible in seeking new recruits for the Association. Application forms are available from the Hon. Secretary.

Association Merchandise

The following Association merchandise is now available from the Hon. Secretary or via the website:

- Association Ties (Silk).....@ £15
- White Tennis Shirt with Coloured Collar..... @ £20
- White Tennis Shirt with White Collar.....@ £15

Nominations

The following nominations have been received for the offices of President, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Auditor:

President: Mr. P. Jackson Hon. Treasurer: Mr. B. Rusling Hon. Secretary: Mr. A.J.K. Tatum Hon. Auditor: Mr. D.P. Howorth

The following members of the Committee retire by rotation in accordance with Rule 8 and being eligible offer themselves for re-election: Messrs G.B. Brown, J.R. Cooper, N. Cummings, J.H.R. Pool, J.B.M. Seddon & H.B. Weatherill.

Mr. H. Macintosh also retires but does not offer himself for re-election. Mr. N. Spink has been nominated for election to take his place. The Committee would like to place on record its grateful thanks to Mr. Macintosh for all his efforts as a member of the Committee.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (25th April 2001): AGENDA

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the AGM on the 2nd May 2001 & consider any matters arising.
- 2. To receive the report of the Committee and Accounts for the year ended 30th November 2001.
- 3. To elect the Officers, Committee and Auditor for the year 2002.
- 4. Any other business.